Sunday, 20th June, 16:49, I wake up to the phone call.

Last night was one of the good nights out. One of the ones that gives you hope that you’ll meet people who are decent and not in one of the foreigner cliques. One of the nights where you get drunk enough to not surpass you or your night. One of those nights that just clicked  together despite everything that might have wanted to destroy it: cultural differences, language barriers and the awkwardness of meeting people for the first time.

I ended up spending far too much and deciding to walk home until it got light only to stay up further into the morning. I guess I didn’t want it to end.

I knew today would bring more walking, not because I wanted to, but because I have to; today I’m shopping for miles. It’s hard work don’tcha know!

Yeah, I know I’m dramatising the drudgery but it does get to you after a while. By the time you get into a groove of enjoyment it’s broke up again. Life here’s a sea of re-acquaintances; we’re all just islands.  Between the tides of work  and chores we meet and re-meet an ebb and flow of people, some giving us hope between the day to day and others washing it away.

This week the tides have been high. I recently randomly caught up with my old translator lady from Interac  outside her house for the first time in 6 months of living near her, took phonecalls from old friends for a good natter (thanks Evie!) and swapped phone numbers with people who want further contact outside of just drinking and working together. And of course, I got that call.

“Hello?”

“Konnichiwa, Jidensha (Nantoka Nantoka) desu.”

“Oh! Moshi, moshi. Ariga-”

“(Nantoka desu)”

“Hai.”

“(Nantoka Nantoka desu)”

“Ah, hai.”

“DESU DESU DESU.”

“Hai, wakarimashita. Itsu wa ii desu ka?

“Kyo wa roku-ji han made desu.”

“Hai, arigatou. Sa, chotto ato de. Shitsureishimasu.”

*

Time to go see how my steed fares… well, tomorrow. Now it’s time for some chores!

