There’s a really clever, enterprising young spider on my window outside my flat. Not only was it smart enough to set up in a place where there’s light to attract moths into the web but it also set up in a convenient hidey-hole at the corner of my door. She’s a speedy mama and she’s really clever about my arrival – it’ll chill out enough to be entertaning to me in the open whilst I’m watching it but as soon as I either blow on it or shut my front door she’s off like roadrunner, meep-meep noise and everything. Beautiful young thing. I hope bugs litter her web for as long I stay here in this apartment. Her savvy’s earned it. She’s earned the envy of all those douche-bag old-money type spiders with their big families and half-eaten husbands. I hope she prospers.

*

I got paid today! To the foreign money transfer service mobile!  CHRISTMAS FLIGHT SAVINGS! MAGIC CARDS! NEW CLOTHES! YOU CAN HAVE ALL THIS AND MORE! Just dial 0800-RECESSION-DODGE.

*

Never interrupt a frenemy when they are about to make a mistake. Smile and laugh about it together over drinks later.

Fed up of my new word yet? I’m not.

*

Let’s play crack the sky. Fix it a little, the sky of course, then jump-rope the sun as it recontracts for a few more millenia. For me this place is the land of the setting sun. And it’s pink.

*

I got a lot of birthday attention on Facebook, even from people who don’t pipe up too often. 37 folks commented on my wall. Well, 36 – Louise Elizabeth Mixter, you don’t count.

After yesterday’s lack of sleep and restlessness – to the point where I talked to myself so much the guy next door banged on my wall to shut me up – I needed the pick-me-up. When I saw other people’s birthday messages on Facebook I used to think it was cheapened to wish someone well with a simple ‘Happy Birthday’ over the internet rather than a dedicated message or personal greeting but after the sheer number of well-wishers I realised that it really is just the thought that counts. Of course, to those who did put in the effort to send me a wee piece of love – it means a lot to me.

It means a lot to me like the goodbye letter I got from a student in my old school where I worked as an ALT; like the print-shop pictures and photos I have to remember my friends abroad; like all my postcards that act as a wallpaper in this bland room of a home. Like new music.

You woke me out of my 6-day week, 2 hour walk-and-back commute stupor I’ve been in. Thanks guys – I needed that.

*

“Your birthday brings fond memories filled with warmth and joy – Happy thoughts of smiles you brought swhen you were just a boy – and thoough the years have changed some things, when all is said and done. You stil bring smiles and happiness – you’re still a special son! Happy Birthday, have a lovely day, lots of love, Mum, xxx”

Thanks Mum 🙂

*

“My personality colour is purple I am very spontaneous; I have a quick and original mind that knows no boundaries. I am comparatively conservative and appreciate beautiful surroundings, especially in nature. I am relaxed and self-assured. I work well with others. I am a unique individual, and have unusual tastes but I’m quite comfortable among more conservative peers.”

Thanks ‘What Color Is Your Personality Quiz’!

*
*
I received an email from 4and20.com stating that they would be publishing my haiku ‘Dear Diary’ in their September edition of their online e-zine.
Thanks 4and20.com!
*
*
*
 
